1. Simulation Environment

1.1 Simulator

1.1 Simulator

Within this work package, a virtual image of the test field for of the test field for the automated test drives. This includes the part of the Dortmund-Ems Canal from the port in Dortmund to the lock in Waltrop. Waltrop. In addition to the pure representation of the environment, the Unity3D based visualization environment is extended by the output of virtual sensor data for the further processing in WP 1.2.

In close cooperation with WP 2, sensor models will be generated, which will represent the measured values data structure, measuring frequency and accuracies as it is done with the selected sensors in the real the selected sensors in the real test case. The pre-processing of the virtual measured values is also part of this work package. In this step, the data transfer is adapted to the requirements of the data structure and measurement frequency. data structure and measurement frequency of the driving behavior module/the AI.

Furthermore, the simulated inland vessel of the simulator will be inland vessel of the simulator is successively adapted to the real conditions of the real vessel to be to be automated. For this purpose, in particular the and sensor components are mapped in corresponding simulation models. models. This ensures that the real conditions are adequately reproduced for the for the simulative preliminary tests. This iterative process is process takes place over a large part of the year due to the step-by-step ship guidance algorithms over a large part of the project duration.

In preparation for the development of ship guidance algorithms based on real data in the ship simulator, a method will continue to be integrated that can both the output of virtual measurements and the output of stored real stored real measurements. A special challenge challenge in this context is the realistic manipulation of the real measurements. measurements, which may be necessary due to different trajectories (the simulated ship may be (the simulated ship may behave differently than the skipper did in a comparable situation). situation, which makes measurements at other positions necessary). positions become necessary).

Within the scope of this work package, several iteration loops are foreseen, which, due to new measured values, changing environmental conditions, extensions of the experimental vessel, etc. In order to achieve a realistic conditions, this work package therefore contains a preparatory part as well as a a parallel strand for the iteration loops and the necessary extensions. iteration loops and necessary extensions.

In order to generate the virtual sensor data in real time or even faster faster, a correspondingly powerful hardware is required in the background. background is necessary. For this purpose, the simulation infrastructure of the “Versuchs- und Center for Autonomous Inland Navigation” (www.velabi.de) can be can be used. The resulting simulation environment, as well as the interaction with the virtual with the virtual test ship can be tested there in a 360° 3D round projection. can be tested.

Work packages

1. Simulationsumgebung

1.1 Simulator

1.1 Simulator

Innerhalb dieses Arbeitspaketes wird ein virtuelles Abbild des Testfeldes für die automatisierten Testfahrten erstellt. Dieses beinhaltet den Teil des Dortmund-Ems-Kanals vom Hafen in Dortmund bis hin zur Schleuse in Waltrop. Neben der reinen Darstellung der Umgebung wird die auf Unity3D basierte Visualisierungsumgebung um die Ausgabe von virtuellen Sensordaten für die Weiterverarbeitung im AP 1.2 erweitert.
In enger Verzahnung mit AP 2 werden Sensormodelle erzeugt, welche die Messwerte bzgl. Datenstruktur, Messfrequenz und Genauigkeiten so ausgibt, wie es auch mit den ausgewählten Sensoren im realen Testfall zu erwarten ist. Die Vorverarbeitung der virtuellen Messwerte ist ebenfalls Bestandteil dieses Arbeitspakets. In diesem Arbeitsschritt wird der Datentransfer an die Anforderungen bzgl. Datenstruktur und Messfrequenz des Fahrverhaltensmoduls/der KI angepasst.

Weiterhin wird in diesem Arbeitspaket das simulierte Binnenschiff des Simulators sukzessive den realen Gegebenheiten des realen, zu automatisierenden Schiffs angepasst. Zu diesem Zweck werden insbesondere die Aktorik- und Sensorikkomponenten in entsprechenden Simulationsmodellen abgebildet. Dadurch wird eine adäquate Wiedergabe der realen Gegebenheiten für die simulativen Voruntersuchungen gewährleistet. Dieser iterative Prozess zieht sich aufgrund der schrittweisen Ausstattung und Integration der Schiffsführungsalgorithmen über einen Großteil der Projektlaufzeit hin.
In Vorbereitung der Entwicklung von Algorithmen zur Schiffsführung anhand von Realdaten im Schiffssimulator wird weiterhin eine Methode integriert, die sowohl die Ausgabe von virtuellen Messungen als auch die Ausgabe von gespeicherten realen Messungen ermöglicht. Eine besondere Herausforderung stellt in diesem Zusammenhang die realitätsnahe Manipulation der realen Messungen dar, welche aufgrund ggf. unterschiedlicher Trajektorien notwendig wird (das simulierte Schiff kann sich anders verhalten, als der Schiffsführer dies in einer vergleichbaren Situation getan hat, wodurch Messungen an anderen Positionen nötig werden).
Im Rahmen dieses Arbeitspakets sind mehrere Iterationsschleifen vorgesehen, welche aufgrund von neuen Messwerten, veränderlichen Umgebungsbedingungen, Erweiterungen des Versuchsschiffs etc. anfallen. Um eine realitätsnahe Abbildung der Gegebenheiten zu erreichen, enthält dieses Arbeitspaket daher neben einem vorbereitenden Anteil auch einen parallelen Strang für die Iterationsschleifen und notwendigen Erweiterungen.

Um die virtuellen Sensordaten möglichst in Echtzeit oder schneller zu generieren ist eine entsprechend leistungsfähige Hardware im Hintergrund nötig. Hierzu kann die Simulationsinfrastruktur des „Versuchs- und Leitungszentrum autonome Binnenschiffe“ (www.velabi.de) verwendet werden. Die entstehende Simulationsumgebung, sowie die Interaktion mit dem virtuellen Testschiff kann dort in einer 360°-3D-Rundprojektion getestet werden.

Arbeitspakete